Welcome to the #1 Explorer ST Forum and Explorer ST community dedicated to Explorer ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Explorer ST Forum today!

Can't decide, ST or Platinum?

Kingfish

Reactions
I am new to Ford. I want a larger vehicle than current Outback. I go on long road trips (500 miles +).
I thought a deal on a 2020 Platinum had my name on it...until I test drove the
2021 ST. Wow! Looks cooler too with the all dark colors...less gaudy and less fancy.
But the Platinum sure does ride real comfortable... what say you?
thanks! New to this board.

UNBROKEN

4000 Post Club
Reactions
You’re on an ST forum. I think you can guess what we’re gonna say. lol

OP
K

Kingfish

Reactions
Thread Starter #3
You’re on an ST forum. I think you can guess what we’re gonna say. lol
I guess I do know. Just want to hear some details as I want to pull the trigger this week!

Reactions
Test drive both again. Don’t make this mistake I did. Bought and drive the xlt for a couple weeks. Went back to the ST and never looked back.

GearHead_1

1000 Post Club
Reactions
Vehicle
Exploder
A little less HP (40) with the Platinum and that could probably be made up with a tune. ST stands for sport tuned and that’s with respect to both HP and handling. I wouldn’t be surprised if you found the ST drives a little bit “stiffer” for lack of a better term. Most of the members on this forum are looking for just that. Platinums can be had with brighter trim package if that’s what you’re looking for. Creature comfort wise it’s a wash.

RLW

Reactions