Welcome to the #1 Explorer ST Forum and Explorer ST community dedicated to Explorer ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Explorer ST Forum today!

I'm disappointed

ninja0n3

Reactions
Vehicle
2023 Explorer ST
Hello,

First post, just sharing a rant for anyone who cares to read.
I need to vent, this feels like the right place.

I've been driving an Explorer ST since Sept 2019, I got the very first one in my area when it came out. I really enjoyed every aspect of the 2020 Explorer ST, I though it was a great SUV.
I had it fully spec'd, it ran great (aside from a snap ring getting loose in the transmission a few months ago, all covered by the warranty) and had the features that I wanted.

My 2020 ST lease was up around Sept last year, and I ordered the "exact same" 2023 ST to have feature parity, which I just picked up today.
After having the new truck for about 4-5 hours, I am strongly starting to regret not keeping the 2020 ST. More importantly I feel like I've got a brand new more expensive downgrade from what I was driving this morning.

The things I was aware of, first off, the 2023 sticker was about CA$7k more expensive, and I was made aware that it would not include the massage seats due to chip shortages, COVID, inflation, Ukraine, zombies and what not. I was ok with those conditions. A bit disappointing, but I assumed the rest of the truck would keep the spirit of the original ST that I was turning in.

Here's where things started getting really disappointing for me once I received the SUV: