Welcome to the #1 Explorer ST Forum and Explorer ST community dedicated to Explorer ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Explorer ST Forum today!

No CD player,. but flash drive

Symetry

U.S. Army Veteran
Reactions
I knew that the ST didn't have a cd player.
And, I have hundreds of cds.
So now that I've had the ST for 5 days and it's too cold to be in garage tinkering.

So I started playing around on my laptop , and, finally figured out a way to download my CDs onto a 32 gig flash drive in an MP3 format.

Takes time to RIP the tracks to computer , but syncs to flash drive quickly.

Tried it last night and figured out ,
you've got to name the CD , and the artist, so that you can browse thru the flash drive and pick the album or artist , then select track you want to play.

Sooo , I'll be spending some time transferring my cds.

Anybody else doing this?
Any tips?

Jim

Cdubya

1000 Post Club
Reactions
Vehicle
2020 Explorer ST
Since the days of streaming, I haven't ripped too many CDs to MP3 but let me just say that you definitely should back up your library to a 2nd or even 3rd source.

OP
Symetry

Symetry

U.S. Army Veteran
Reactions
Thread Starter #3
I found it so convenient to just plug in the flash drive , and select any album, any artist , any track , any genre that's my favorites, commercial free.

I also do Spotify and You tube , but it's not as easy operating , and Spotify has too many ads, Sirius is ok, but you gotta pay.

Besides , it keeps me outta trouble and outta the wife's way.:)

Jim

Reactions
I also used to have a zillion cd's. I ripped them several years back when auto manufacturers and home audio systems started moving away from cd's.

Reactions
I found it so convenient to just plug in the flash drive , and select any album, any artist , any track , any genre that's my favorites, commercial free.