Welcome to the #1 Explorer ST Forum and Explorer ST community dedicated to Explorer ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Explorer ST Forum today!

Newbie winter tire & wheel combination question

Buck Nutz

Reactions
Vehicle
2021 Ford Explorer ST
Hey all.... I have a stock w/ no mods 21 ST w/ street pack and looking for new wheel/winter tire combo to shelf the stock 21" rims and Pirelli 275/45 R21 for the winter
They were ok in Northern Ohio winter for 1st year, but thinking about something new.
A friend recommended Tire Rack.com & found their website as a great resource for picking the right combo

Any issues using the 20" Yokohama Iceguard 265/50 R20 w/ Platinum Atonement 20" x 8.5 Offset +40mm I may decide down the road to go to the 20" summer tires when the Pirelli's need to be replaced as the 21's are hard to find & expensive.

I am new to all this & would appreciate any feedback before I pull the trigger on the deal

Cheers!

I Bleed Ford Blue

U.S. Navy Veteran
Reactions
Vehicle
23 Rapid Red Explorer ST
I'm on the west side and I run the factory 20's for winter. They are a michelin A/S tire and are good enough for Cleveland winters, at least for a west sider. With you being near the snow belt, they might not be good enough for you.

OP
B

Buck Nutz

Reactions
Vehicle
2021 Ford Explorer ST
Thread Starter #3
Ah, nice! I am in Lake County & we got hammered at times last year. I just throw it in "slippery" mode and car did better than expected. I could not get into my shop on on occasion, had close to 20" on the ground and I needed a Western to plow my way in. We have experience, I just can't see for shit at night! I will probably go to 20" summer tires when Pirelli's crap the bed. The car really does have a awesome ride

Reactions
Vehicle
2022 Explorer ST