Welcome to the #1 Explorer ST Forum and Explorer ST community dedicated to Explorer ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Explorer ST Forum today!

My tailgate is possessed. I need a priest.

Blackssr

Reactions
My tailgate is definitely possessed by an evil spirit. My garage is extremely tight and I manage to make enough room to allow the tailgate to be opened fully with the SUV parked and garage door closed. At least once or twice a day just walking by the SUV triggers the motion swipe feature that opens the tailgate. It is getting annoying. Does anyone know how to disable the feature completely? I found the switch disable in the touch panel options but none is available to disable the motion swipe. Any experts please chime in.

CapTom

U.S. Army Veteran
Firefighter/EMT
Reactions
Vehicle
2020 Explorer ST
I'm far from an expert, but try locating the sensor (near where you kick your foot to open it) and unplug the wiring harness. Tape the ends in case you want to re-attach it in the future.

Reactions
I read that it is possible to unplug the wire loop that makes up the antenna for the foot swipe feature, I just haven’t got underneath to investigate it. The info I read was for the previous gen Explorer, so things may have changed.

OP
Blackssr

Blackssr

Reactions
Thread Starter #4
I read that it is possible to unplug the wire loop that makes up the antenna for the foot swipe feature, I just haven’t got underneath to investigate it. The info I read was for the previous gen Explorer, so things may have changed.