Welcome to the #1 Explorer ST Forum and Explorer ST community dedicated to Explorer ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Explorer ST Forum today!

Introducing Thermal R&D 3-inch Exhaust system! (Sound Clips)

Reactions
Hey All,

Excited to announce that Thermal R&D is bringing a 3-inch exhaust kit to market!

Huge shoutout to [mention]Ron miller [/mention][mention]Whoosh motorsport [/mention] for pairing me up with TR&D for the research and development, was a blast! Ron will have exclusivity for this kit at launch so be sure to check him out when the time is right (looking like approximately 2 months from now). No word on cost yet but this kit WILL include the mid pipes as opposed to how the 2.5-inch kit is offered.

Let me be clear, this thing is NASTY! I heard second hand that the owner of TR&D believes this system has less drone than the 2.5-inch system. I’m not an expert in drone mechanics but I hear absolutely ZERO (just one day with the kit so will update if I detect and where.) This kit is virtually silent at cruising speeds but sounds killer when you get on it. I was slightly worried it would be obnoxious or too deep but neither is the case. Link to startup and rev clip below. Will add some in-cabin and flyby examples later today.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
OP
SwagSolo
Reactions
Thread Starter #2
Clarified original post to highlight [mention]Whoosh Motorsport [/mention]exclusivity at launch.

Cruising68

1000 Post Club
Reactions
Darn and I just installed my 2.5 Thermal....

UNBROKEN

4000 Post Club
Reactions
Clarified original post to highlight [mention]Whoosh Motorsport [/mention]exclusivity at launch.

Lethal Performance will have it also. Nobody has an exclusive on this kit.

Reactions
Vehicle
2022 Ford Explorer Platinum
Hey All,

Excited to announce that Thermal R&D is bringing a 3-inch exhaust kit to market!

Do you have down pipes installed as well?

OP