Welcome to the #1 Explorer ST Forum and Explorer ST community dedicated to Explorer ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Explorer ST Forum today!

FDRS for module updates

dolsen

U.S. Marine Veteran
Reactions
Has anyone here every used FDRS to update the various modules in their explorer? This is a REALLY big thing that F-150 owners are doing. I have an Explorer and an F-150. I plan to do all of the module updates myself, but was hoping to see if there is any experience on here with Explorers

Cruising68

1000 Post Club
Reactions
I have it and have done it. Dealer technician said it was due for an update.....but it was already there :) It is very easy to use IMO.

OP
D

dolsen

U.S. Marine Veteran
Reactions
Thread Starter #3
I have it and have done it. Dealer technician said it was due for an update.....but it was already there :) It is very easy to use IMO.
Yea, I have never used it before, so of course there is a little bit of the fear of the unknown. On the F-150 forums, there is a user that quite literally seems to know more about Ford electronics than even the Ford engineers, so he is an excellent resource in the event there is an issue with FDRS and the updates. I am sure it is similar enough between the two vehicles, but I was hoping there may be a bit of technical expertise on here to walk me through any issues in case I have one.

I just purchased the Mongoose Plus cable as well as a battery maintainer so that I can use the FDRS software. Do you recall how many updates you needed? Did you run into any issues with any updates? I have an early 2020 build (built November 2019) and I know I have at least 14 modules that have updates available, so I get the feeling it will be a few day long process

Cdubya

1000 Post Club
Reactions
Vehicle
2020 Explorer ST